Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 10-25-23, 07:12 PM

Galvine is on a distinguished road
Routine takeoff procedure

Hello
I’m trying to develop a routine for takeoff. I’m new to a P337 ( turbo)

There is agreement that there is a drag penalty during gear transition. But really a significant issue if you lose an engine.

There is some debate about When to raise the gear etc.

There also seems to be agreement that most engine failures happen when changing power settings.

So one standard takeoff seems to be:

Climb at full power to 500 ft
Then raise gear, then flaps, then reduce to climb power settings ( similar to most twins, just at a higher altitude)

If in mountains, inhospitable terrain etc. Climb to maybe 1,000 ft and then same routine.

Others retract flaps soon after takeoff, Reduce power to climb settings at 500 ft or so, and then gear at 1,000 ft

I’m interested if there is a consensus among the forum readers.

Thx.

Greg.
Unread 10-25-23, 09:45 PM

RandyArizona is on a distinguished road
Mr. Galvine.
You have no aircraft listed, no airport / home listed.
I am assuming you are probably a flight sim'er.
Check online for a Skymaster POH for your "sim" aircraft.
On the outside chance you actually are a Skymaster owner.....
Check your Skymaster POH.
I doubt anyone here will put their neck out to tell you "how to operate" the aircraft. If they do, AND you follow that advice, AND bend aluminum.
Well, it is a litigious world we live in.
Have a good day.
Regards,
Randy
Unread 10-25-23, 09:58 PM

Randy
N4CZ 1978 P337H
Based in Sioux Falls SD. KFSD
Never flown a flight sim except for Simcom in Florida many times.

looking for real world experience from actual skymaster pilots.
Very easy to add a disclaimer “this is what I do but I’m not a flight instructor “
Like other pilot forums do.

I’ll look elsewhere

Greg
Unread 10-25-23, 10:05 PM

RandyArizona is on a distinguished road