Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 03-12-11, 10:23 AM

etv100Fly is on a distinguished road
Cool Flying to Nicaragua

I am new to the 337 board and after 30 years of not flying I just started again and completed my bi annual. I want to buy a 337 to fly to and from Nicaragua without refueling in Mexico! Just started multi-engine and IFR training and should be ready to go by summer. Looking at all the data on 337 I am lost as to how fast they really fly and thier range. I need a 1,000 mile range. 2nd I plan on starting a tour operation in Nicaragua for sight seeing. Am I dreaming about using a 337 for this. I am in Waller Texas, any partnerships out there? I forgot from 1st post. I do plan to land in Gutamala and refuel! All commits appreciated!

Many Thanks Earl

Last edited by etv100Fly : 03-12-11 at 12:33 PM.
Unread 03-12-11, 12:13 PM
Administrator

Ernie Martin is an unknown quantity at this point
Because I have flown two different Skymasters from Miami to Boise and extensively over water routes, including a trip from St. Thomas (Virgin Islands) to Miami, I have given considerable thought to your type of question.

Quick/rough numbers for a non-turbo: cruise speed 140 kts (at a fairly economical power level), 20 gal/hr (running by the book, leaning to about 60-75 deg rich of peak), 125 - 145 gal of usable fuel (with extended-range tanks, depending on model year).

Your trip (Brownsville to Managua) is 1025 nm. With the above numbers you need 146 gal, even before you allow for margin (and on a trip like this, with inhospitable terrain and infrequent airports, I would counsel 1 hour) and for take-off/climb (figure ~ 5 more gal).