Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Unread 05-30-05, 09:22 PM

Rickskymaster is an unknown quantity at this point
Slipping left and right

A couple of airline/very good GA pilots have let it be known that they do not think it is a safe/wise practice to slip a skymaster to the left and then immediately slip it back to the right. They do think that it is ok to slip one, but not to throw it back and forth.
I have used this procedure on occasion to get down quickly and/or reduce my airspeed, exclusively on final.
I am hearing that they both think/feel that this procedure puts to much stress on the rear booms.
I throw it to the vast experience of the group to share your thoughts.

Rick
Unread 05-30-05, 09:50 PM
Jim Rainer

Jim Rainer is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm no expert, but I think it's harmless as long as one is using smooth motions. The airspeed I use for slips is in the 80 knot range and this is way below maneuvering speed. I worry that I might unport a fuel tank in a prolonged slip.
Unread 05-31-05, 01:56 AM

SkyKing is on a distinguished road
Procedure....

Why not follow the protocols in the POH for the letdown, approach and landing? .. And then you won't need to slip! Compensating for a crosswind, of course, is a whole different bag. Thank Cessna (or your lucky stars as the case may be) that they put a nice baffle in the inboard tank with a flapper...

SkyKing
Unread 05-31-05, 06:24 AM

Rickskymaster is an unknown quantity at this point
Following

I agree it best to follow the protocol in the POH, but what happens if you cannot.
I cannot find any prohibation on slips, nor can I find any mention.
I would think that the O2 drivers in country, must have found themselves in stiuations where they need to slip, and could not follow the recommended procedure.