Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Unread 07-26-05, 09:05 PM

Brent is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile looking for a full de-iced late P model

Does anyone have any leads on a P model with full deice? I've been flying a P210 for the last 20 years but feel it's time for two fans, and the P337 seems the only practical solution. I need the pressurization as the 'minimum sector altitude' about 1 mile from my home airport is 16,000msl, and I run into enough ice that the boots are a must. A good solid maintenance history is also important to me, and good radios would be nice, but run-out engines are ok.

Is there any truth to the rumor that 'plumbed' for boots means nothing since the parts are no longer available to make a new deicing boot installation? That you can replace parts on existing systems only?
Unread 07-27-05, 08:02 AM

kevin is on a distinguished road
In answer to your last question, plumbed for boots is not very useful, but not for the reason you described. You *can* find the parts, there is an outfit that has a display ad in trade-a-plane that can do the whole thing for you, but it is incredibly expensive when you include installation labor (I remember 30K plus, but that is a very vague memory). The real reason that plumbed for boots does not mean much is that you still have to open everything up to put in the needed valves, etc. So plumbed for boots is a very small advantage. Search for the words "boots" or "plumb" use the board search function and you will find more on this if I recall correctly.

In the end, you are way better off to pay for an airplane that already has boots than to grow one yourself, unless you have access to free labor and get a great deal on a non-deiced airplane.

Kevin
Unread 07-27-05, 08:08 PM
Forum Administrator

hharney is on a distinguished road