Skymaster Forum  

Go Back   Skymaster Forum > Messages
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-20, 04:33 AM
chrisb chrisb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
chrisb is on a distinguished road
Help & Advice on an avionics upgrade path

Hello All :-)
Some of you may remember from an earlier thread that i'm in the process of a very deep restoration of a P337H Riley Rocket that I pulled out of a salvage yard in the Netherlands last year.

The aircraft has been re-registered on the N-Registry and will be under Part 91 rules. We're about 18 months away (i'd guess) from starting an avionics fit out and I wanted to start the research process into how exactly to go about it.

What's my target

Other than my incredibly analogue Yak 52, the other aircraft that I fly a lot is a Diamond DA42 which is G1000 and GFC700 equipped. It's an extremely powerful tool and i'm a big fan of the Garmin ecosystem.

In an ideal world, i'd like to put in the aircraft:
- 2x 10.5" G600TXI's
- 1x GTN750 XI
- EIS TXI (+7" display)
- GFC700
- G5 AI/DI
+ All the other associated remote transponder and radio and interactive (flight stream) gubbins.

I'm not unrealistic around the cost of such things :-) However I just wanted some advice as to whether you think that it's practical to do this sort of thing under field approval/337 (especially the GFC) or whether i'm being a bit unrealistic.

I also need to find somebody to do this with us in Europe (South East of the UK) as we don't necessarily have a local FAA office we can work with :-D

Before somebody ask's 'What's your mission and why do you want all this stuff' For completeness... :-) I have a hole in my diary in about 3 years time where i'm planning to take a year out and travel the world in this aircraft. I'd like to bring it back across to the United States, do some of the big fly in's with you fine people and then go down into South America. On a day to day basis i'd use this aircraft to fly between the UK & France (about an 1.5h each way in the air)

Any thoughts or advice?

Kind Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-20, 11:31 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC JimC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 295
JimC is on a distinguished road
My impression is that you're right - the autopilot will be the hardest thing to do on field approval. I haven't heard of one being done that way for any plane.
__________________
1969 T337E
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-20, 05:45 PM
Ernie Martin's Avatar
Ernie Martin Ernie Martin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 988
Ernie Martin is an unknown quantity at this point
No se si es el mejor juego

Iím on my 3rd 337 (69D, 73G, 77G) and have been happy with the factory autopilot (if not working well there are still shops that fix them and can do it with just the units, off the aircraft). If field approval is an issue, itís something to consider, plus it will save you money. In my current aircraft I have a Garmin GTN650 (touch) and a GTX335 ADS-B along with my Cessna autopilot, so some new and some old. The autopilot has served me well on several very long trips, including one from Miami to Idaho, almost at the other extreme of the country. Perhaps others might jump in here and share views on this, especially if they disagree.

Ernie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-20, 08:36 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC JimC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 295
JimC is on a distinguished road
Instead of the GFC700, get an STEC55x and a GAD43e. Those will be STC'ed. I think it'll get you 90% of what you want.
__________________
1969 T337E
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-20, 06:04 PM
n86121's Avatar
n86121 n86121 is offline
bigcheese
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Potomac Airfield~!
Posts: 195
n86121 is an unknown quantity at this point
Autopilots Central

Looking at the options, it would be $25k++ ish to put in a new autopilot.

The airplane is soooooo stable I hardly use it at all, but...

I took out the servos (wing panels), the brain (over rear most seats), and control head (by knee), wire tied their airframe connectors so they couldn't hang anything up, and sent to autopilots central to bench debug the whole thing.

About $5k. Works like new.

Pretty much the only thing I ever use it for is straight and level, with bearing and altitude hold. Mostly just to play with it.

Simply tweak heading knob until the projected 50mi track vector on my GPS overlies the next place I want to be, and presto.
__________________
David Wartofsky
Potomac Airfield
10300 Glen Way
Fort Washington, MD 20744
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-20, 08:18 AM
chrisb chrisb is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
chrisb is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post
Instead of the GFC700, get an STEC55x and a GAD43e. Those will be STC'ed. I think it'll get you 90% of what you want.
Yeah I think this is probably going to be the only way to go unless Dynon suddenly decide to help us.
__________________
P337H Sn: 0318.
Under restoration
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-20, 09:56 PM
Dan schultz Dan schultz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 48
Dan schultz is on a distinguished road
Using an original 400A autopilot I believe is not authorized with the Garmin WAAS navigators for LPV approaches. My understanding is the 400B is approved for LPV.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-20, 03:21 PM
hayesjaj hayesjaj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 46
hayesjaj is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan schultz View Post
Using an original 400A autopilot I believe is not authorized with the Garmin WAAS navigators for LPV approaches. My understanding is the 400B is approved for LPV.

Dan

Source for this? First I have heard of it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-20, 07:37 PM
Dan schultz Dan schultz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 48
Dan schultz is on a distinguished road
The 400A can be used for LNAV minimums, however, LPV minimums, are not authorized. Attached is a page out of the 530W installation manual rev E.

Dan
Attached Images
File Type: png D636C4A6-2097-4B26-85D2-62C5306EDD80.png (470.3 KB, 354 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-20, 07:54 PM
hayesjaj hayesjaj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 46
hayesjaj is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan schultz View Post
The 400A can be used for LNAV minimums, however, LPV minimums, are not authorized. Attached is a page out of the 530W installation manual rev E.

Dan
Interesting! I have Rev K of same manual and it does not have that limitation. Nor does it have most of the autopilot interconnect diagrams.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-21-20, 08:13 PM
Dan schultz Dan schultz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 48
Dan schultz is on a distinguished road
My Rev M. Manual has the same info.

Dan
Attached Images
File Type: png 31A68C38-8169-4ABB-9ABE-93183D3C46D1.png (676.5 KB, 355 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-22-20, 11:03 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC JimC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 295
JimC is on a distinguished road
"Note: Contact Garmin to remove VNAV limitations."
__________________
1969 T337E
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-22-20, 12:07 PM
Dan schultz Dan schultz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 48
Dan schultz is on a distinguished road
Talking with Billy today, engineer at Garmin, we canít get LPV minimums with the 400A autopilot, LNAV minimums only. The 400B that is approved is a different animal compared to the 400A.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-22-20, 12:10 PM
hayesjaj hayesjaj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 46
hayesjaj is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan schultz View Post
Talking with Billy today, engineer at Garmin, we canít get LPV minimums with the 400A autopilot, LNAV minimums only. The 400B that is approved is a different animal compared to the 400A.

Dan
Rats. Tell them to certify the GFC500 for us.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-22-20, 12:22 PM
cjordan cjordan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
cjordan is on a distinguished road
I'd also like to lean on fellow Skymaster owners for advice on basic upgrades. VFR pilot looking to finish off Instrument.

I don't anticipate flying in heavy soup with low ceilings. Really just to get out, maybe on top with relatively decent weather at destination..or just won't go. Plan to set pretty moderate personal minimums another words.

1973 "G" model, currently has:
Stec 55x w CWS
GNC300XL
KN64DME
KR87 ADF
2 MX-170B with KI209A Glideslopes
KT76A transponder with Avionix Tail beacon
Strikefinder
Eaton Annunciation push switches to control what feeds autopilot, glideslopes, etc.
I use Stratus 2 and Fore-flight

Thinking for training (and usefulness) to add Waas/GPS capability.

Am looking at adding one of following:
Garmin GPS175
Garmin GNC355
Garmin GNX375
Probably a G5 HSI or AV30

Have thought about a used 430 or 530, but for what they cost along with installation thought it might be better to go with a unit mentioned above. Obviously can dump the GNC300 and tail beacon if need be and likely the ADF.

All input appreciated )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.